ExactCups

Almond flour

One US cup of almond flour weighs between 96 and 112 grams, depending on how the cup is filled and which source measured it. That range is the answer; a single number would not be. Every figure behind it is below, with the method each source used.

Also called blanched almond flour, superfine almond flour, almond powder, ground almonds.

Most sites print one number for a cup of almond flour. This page prints 96 to 112 grams, because that is what King Arthur Baking and Bob's Red Mill actually measured, and it names the method behind every figure rather than picking a favourite.

Two or more sources describe the same way of filling the cup and still disagree, by 16.7%. That is more than this site will average over, so both figures stand and neither is chosen. Two named sources disagree by 15.4%, over the 10% tolerance for this category.

Almond flour, method not specified. The range across 2 sources, 0.4058–0.4734 g/ml, on a US cup of 236.5882365 ml. No single figure is published.
VolumeWeight
1 cup96–112 g
3/4 cup72–84 g
2/3 cup64–74.7 g
1/2 cup48–56 g
1/3 cup32–37.3 g
1/4 cup24–28 g
1 tablespoon6–7 g
1 teaspoon2–2.3 g
Every published figure for a cup of almond flour, with how it was measured and who measured it. ExactCups publishes the range these cover rather than choosing one.
Filling the cup1 cupSource
Method not specified96 gKing Arthur Baking
Method not specified112 gBob's Red Mill

Why this page publishes a range

Almond flour is the first entry in this dataset where the USDA supplies no cup weight and the two available baking authorities disagree by 15.4%. USDA FDC 2261420 (Flour, almond, Foundation Foods, published April 2022) publishes nutrient composition per 100 g but does not include a household portion, so a cup weight cannot be derived from it. That leaves King Arthur Baking and Bob's Red Mill as the two named sources, and they give substantially different figures.

King Arthur's Ingredient Weight Chart lists Almond Flour at 96 g per cup (0.4058 g/ml). Bob's Red Mill's published Flour Weight Chart lists almond flour at 112 g per cup (0.4734 g/ml). Both are major baking flour producers publishing weight tables intended for their own customers, and both nominally describe the same product category.

The disagreement reflects a genuine inconsistency in what the industry calls almond flour. King Arthur uses the term strictly for blanched, superfine ground almonds and lists almond meal as a separate product at 84 g per cup. Bob's Red Mill sells a single product labelled Almond Meal/Flour that combines the two terms, and the 112 g figure in their weight chart appears to reference this combined product rather than a superfine blanched flour.

Their separate Super Fine Almond Flour product uses different packaging and is not covered by the chart. Retail nutrition labels across brands span an even wider range: Now Foods Organic Almond Flour Super Fine declares 22 g per quarter cup (88 g per cup), Baker's Corner and Hodgson Mill declare 28 and 23 g respectively (112 and 92 g per cup), and Full Circle declares 15 g per quarter cup which is anomalously low and likely a labelling error. Nutrition-label figures round to the nearest whole gram on a quarter-cup measure and cannot serve as sources under rule 3, but the pattern of brand-to-brand variation from 88 to 112 g per cup is evidence that the ingredient itself is not standardised across producers, not that any single measurement is wrong.

The physical reasons for the spread are real. Blanching removes the skin, which reduces particle size and slightly changes packing behaviour. Grind fineness varies between superfine, fine and meal grades.

Fat content varies with almond variety and roasting. All three contribute to bulk density and none is regulated. The range published here is 96 to 112 g per cup, spanning King Arthur's superfine blanched figure and Bob's Red Mill's combined meal/flour figure.

Almond meal is treated as a separate entry with its own sourcing, because King Arthur lists it separately at 84 g per cup and the two products are used interchangeably in some recipes but not others. Toasted almond flour is the same weight as untoasted per King Arthur, as roasting removes moisture but does not measurably change bulk density. No standards body publishes a bulk density for almond flour.

The Almond Board of California's Almond Flour Technical Takeaways document (2025) covers protein, fibre and moisture content but not physical density, and Codex Alimentarius has no standard for ground almond products. Two sources only, and the range is published because no third source arbitrates the disagreement between them.

Sources

Method not specified — no single figure published

Two named sources disagree by 15.4%, over the 10% tolerance for this category.

Confidence: lowLast checked 2026-09-15Schema v3

SwapGenie

Scan a grocery barcode, get a better version of the same thing.

I built SwapGenie for the problem this site cannot solve: the label. It reads a barcode, scores the product against your own allergens and diet rather than a generic grade, and suggests what to buy instead. Android, no ads.

It is in closed testing, and the first 100 testers get 3 months of Pro free.

Used once, to send you the link and your code. Nothing else, ever. swapgenie.app