ExactCups SearchCtrl K

Home / Milled powders and grains / Psyllium husk powder

Psyllium husk powder

Also called psyllium powder, psyllium fiber powder, ground psyllium husk, psyllium husk fiber

Milled · 10% toleranceRange published

1 tsp

3–5g0.11–0.18 oz

Sources disagree by 67%, more than the 10% tolerance, so the range is the answer.

3–5 g0.11–0.18 oz

What each source weighs for 1 teaspoon

5 sources · 67% apart
  • NOW Foods Psyllium Husk Powder label3 g
  • Dan Lepard3.3 g
  • Anthony's Organic Psyllium Husk Powder label4 g
  • It's Just Psyllium Husk Powder label4 g
  • Viva Naturals Organic Psyllium Husk Powder label5 g

Psyllium husk powder in grams, by amount

Weights for a US cup of 236.6 ml and spoons derived from it. Ounces are weight ounces of 28.35 g.

One US cup of psyllium husk powder weighs between 144 and 240 grams (5.1 to 8.5 ounces), depending on how the cup is filled and which source measured it. That range is the answer; a single number would not be. Every figure behind it is below, with the method each source used.

Most sites print one number for a cup of psyllium husk powder. This page prints 144 to 240 grams, because that is what NOW Foods Psyllium Husk Powder label, Dan Lepard – gluten-free baking reference, Anthony's Organic Psyllium Husk Powder label, It's Just Psyllium Husk Powder label and Viva Naturals Organic Psyllium Husk Powder label actually measured, and it names the method behind every figure rather than picking a favourite.

Two or more sources describe the same way of filling the cup and still disagree, by 66.7%. That is more than this site will average over, so all the figures stand and none is chosen. Producer density varies by 67% across major brands (144-240 g/cup) driven by grind fineness rather than measurement error. Coarser grinds (NOW Foods) pack around 144 g/cup; medium grinds (Anthony's, It's Just) around 192 g/cup; the finest grinds (Viva Naturals, Vitacost) reach 240 g/cup. Grind fineness is not disclosed on most labels. Serious gluten-free baking recipes universally specify psyllium by weight in grams; volume conversion is not reliable across brands.

Every published figure for a cup of psyllium husk powder, with how it was measured and who measured it. ExactCups publishes the range these cover rather than choosing one.
Filling the cup1 cupSource
Standard, spooned and leveled144 g5.1 ozNOW Foods Psyllium Husk Powder label
Standard, spooned and leveled160 g5.6 ozDan Lepard – gluten-free baking reference
Standard, spooned and leveled192 g6.8 ozAnthony's Organic Psyllium Husk Powder label
Standard, spooned and leveled192 g6.8 ozIt's Just Psyllium Husk Powder label
Standard, spooned and leveled240 g8.5 ozViva Naturals Organic Psyllium Husk Powder label

Psyllium husk powder ounces to grams and cups

Weight ounces of psyllium husk powder. A fluid ounce is a volume, not a weight: 8 fluid ounces is 1 cup, which weighs 144–240 g of psyllium husk powder.
WeightGramsUS cups
1 oz28.3 g0.12–0.20
4 oz113.4 g0.47–0.79
8 oz226.8 g0.95–1.58
16 oz (1 lb)453.6 g1.89–3.15

Why this page publishes a range

Psyllium husk powder density varies enormously across brands, from about 144 g/cup for coarser grinds up to about 240 g/cup for the finest, a 67 percent spread driven by grind fineness rather than measurement error. Serious gluten-free baking recipes universally specify psyllium by weight in grams for this reason.

Psyllium husk is the outer coating of the seed of Plantago ovata, a plant grown mainly in India, and it works in gluten-free baking by hydrating into a viscous gel that mimics some of the structural role of gluten. It also has a long-established use as a bulk-forming fiber supplement, which is why it sits between the baking and supplement aisles and often carries supplement-style nutrition labels rather than baking-ingredient labels.

King Arthur has no psyllium husk powder entry in their Ingredient Weight Chart, so this catalog entry is based entirely on producer nutrition labels and gluten-free baking references.

The density spread across brands is best understood as three tiers driven by how finely each producer mills the husk. Coarser grinds, like NOW Foods, pack at roughly 9 grams per tablespoon, giving about 144 g/cup. Medium grinds, like Anthony's and It's Just, run about 12 grams per tablespoon, giving about 192 g/cup. The finest, silkiest grinds, like Viva Naturals and Vitacost, reach roughly 15 grams per tablespoon, giving about 240 g/cup. Physical reason: psyllium husk is a light, fluffy fibrous material with a lot of void space when coarsely ground; grinding it into a finer powder progressively eliminates that air and lets the particles pack much more tightly. Different producers publish their products under different fineness specifications, and the label almost never says which grind you are buying.

Grind fineness is genuinely not disclosed on most retail labels. Some brands use terms like 'finely ground' or 'silky' or 'coarse', but there is no industry standard. Two products both labeled 'psyllium husk powder' can differ by 60 percent in density and still be honestly labeled. This is why NOW Foods explicitly disclaims volume on their bag with the language 'this product is sold by weight not volume' — an unusually candid admission that their gram-per-tablespoon figure is approximate.

Psyllium husk powder is denser than whole psyllium husk (flakes), which packs at roughly 5 grams per tablespoon or about 80 g/cup. Powder is not a 1:1 volume substitute for whole husk in either direction. Multiple gluten-free baking authorities recommend using about 15-25 percent less powder than whole husk by weight when substituting, because the powder's higher surface area absorbs more water per gram and forms a stiffer gel.

Practical guidance for bakers: always weigh psyllium husk powder in grams rather than measuring by cup or tablespoon. A recipe that calls for '2 tablespoons of psyllium husk powder' without a gram weight is genuinely ambiguous, since the outcome depends on which brand the recipe developer used and which brand the reader has on hand. Where a recipe does specify grams, that is the number to trust. The middle of the range, around 160-192 g/cup, is a defensible fallback for volume-only recipes if a scale is not available, but users should expect noticeable texture differences depending on brand.

Whole psyllium husk (flakes) is a distinct product and should be entered separately in this database if needed.

Sources

Standard, spooned and leveled — no single figure published

Producer density varies by 67% across major brands (144-240 g/cup) driven by grind fineness rather than measurement error. Coarser grinds (NOW Foods) pack around 144 g/cup; medium grinds (Anthony's, It's Just) around 192 g/cup; the finest grinds (Viva Naturals, Vitacost) reach 240 g/cup. Grind fineness is not disclosed on most labels. Serious gluten-free baking recipes universally specify psyllium by weight in grams; volume conversion is not reliable across brands.

Confidence: lowLast checked 2026-09-22

SwapGenie

Scan a grocery barcode, get a better version of the same thing.

We built SwapGenie for the problem this site cannot solve: the label. It reads a barcode, scores the product against your own allergens and diet rather than a generic grade, and suggests what to buy instead. On Android now; iOS on February 15, 2027.

Scan free for 3 months

Get it on Google Play Download on the App Store (coming February 15, 2027) Coming February 15, 2027

swapgenie.app